# COMMUNITY BOARD NO 8 BRONX MAY 19, 2021 MEETING VIA ZOOM

#### **Nominating Committee Minutes**

The Nominating Committee (NC) convened at 6:05 PM.

#### Attendance:

Committee Members: J. Campbell Priveterre, S. Froot, O. Murray, K. Pesce, and J. Reyes.

Guest: CB8} D. Gellman, R. Jacklosky, L. Spalter, D. Travis, and N. Fazio.

After discussion of minutes, the April 13 and May 12, 2001 minutes were unanimously approved as amended, adding guest attendees on the April 13, 2021 minutes.

Discussion and review were had on the interviews scheduled for this evening of the Board Chair, Traffic & Transportation and Economic Development Chair candidates.

Interviews conducted as scheduled.

Upon conclusion of interviews discussion had on the committee's proposed candidates to submit for Officers and Committee Chairperson of the Community Board (CB). A unanimous decision was made of the candidates listed on attached report of the 2021-2022 Slate of the Nominating Committee.

A discussion was had on the NC Report which will be reviewed by all committee members and submitted to the Board by Monday, 5/24/21.

Discussion was had on the CB prior changes to the Ethical Guidance Manual (EGM). The Law, Rules and Ethics committee correctly has eliminated the contradictory item in Section V, part 1 (i)" Any incumbent who wishes to be considered for more than one officer or chair position, must announce the vacancy of their current position".

The scheduled Monday, 5/24/21 meeting will be cancelled. Meeting adjourned 7:10 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Reyes, Chair Nominating Committee

# COMMUNITY BOARD NO 8 BRONX MAY 19, 2021

## **Nominating Committee Report**

Having been elected at a meeting of the full Board on April 13, 2021, the Nominating Committee met four times in duly noticed public meetings accessible via Zoom video and audio conference: Tuesday, April 13, Tuesday, April 27, Wednesday, May 12, and on Wednesday, May 19, 2021.

Committee Memorandums were forwarded to the Board members on April 15, 23, and 28, 2021 keeping the members current on procedures, timelines and information. Please refer to the reports/memos, minutes, and recording of said meetings for your perusal.

The Nominating committee would like to thank all of the board members who addressed the committee and also expressed availability in the event the committee wished to converse with them. The committee is thankful for the time and sharing of the interviewees during the interview process.

The Nominating committee expresses our gratitude to the District Manager, Board office Staff members, and Board Secretary for their assistance throughout this process.

The Nominating Committee is pleased to present the following slate of candidates for officers and chairs of Community Board No. 8 Bronx.

Please note, we are recommending the slate of nominated candidates below, yet we emphasize that it is the role of the Nominating Committee only to recommend, and that it is up to the full Board, by their votes at the June Board meeting, to decide. Additional candidates for any position may be nominated from the floor at the June meeting.

# **2021 Nominating Committee**

Julie Reyes, Chair Steven Froot Omar Murray Karen Pesce Joy Campbell Priveterre

#### 2021 - 2022 Slate of the Nominating Committee

We are pleased to present the following slate of candidates for Officers and Committee Chairpersons of Community Board 8 - Bronx:

## **OFFICERS**

Board Chair Laura Spalter
Vice Chair Bob Bender
Secretary Lisa Daub

Treasurer Diomarys Escaño-Bell

#### **COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSON**

Aging Daniel Padernacht
Budget David Gellman
Economic Development Nick Fazio

Education, Libraries & Cultural Affairs Sylvia Alexander Environment & Sanitation Robert Fanuzzi

Health, Hospitals & Social Services

Omar Murray

Housing Theodore R. Morris II

Land Use Charles G. Moerdler

Law, Rules & Ethics Martin Wolpoff
Parks & Recreation Rosemary Ginty
Public Safety Edward Green

Public Safety Edward Green Traffic & Transportation Deb Travis

Youth Julia Gomez

# **2021 Nominating Committee**

Julie Reyes, Chair Steven Froot Omar Murray Karen Pesce Joy Campbell Priveterre